Hardware Review NO. 1 : Dell XPS M1530

07Aug08

If you are about to buy a notebook computer this post can become helpful for you, because it’s about one of sleekest and fastest machines available in shops*.

I decided to write this review because the one that I read on the Internet doesn’t go over the reality test.

Specification:

  • Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo Processor T8300 (2.4 GHz, 3 MB L2 cache, 800 MHz FSB)
  • RAM Memory: 3 GB DDR 2 (667mhz)
  • HDD: 320 GB (7200 rpm)
  • Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForceTM 8600M GT 256MB DDR3
  • Disc Drive: Nagrywarka DVD DUAL 8x Slim
  • Screen: 15.4″ Wide Screen (1280 x 800)TrueLifeTM
  • Operating system: Microsoft Windows Windows VISTA Ultimate
  • Ethernet | wifi: LAN 10/100 MB | 802.11 n
  • Others: remote, HDMI, FireWire

First impresion.

Everything looks good, but could when you come up closer the things aren’t so great though.

Pros:

  • Not heavy at all looking at the power which it carries
  • Elegant and cool design
  • All ports are available in front and on the sides of the notebook
  • High panoramic screen resolution (1440×900)
  • Keyboard with extra soft buttons covering a lot of the notebook area
  • Great additions like: checking WIFI availability without turning on the computer and the battery status
  • Additional dell cloth to keep your screen clean and clear

Cons:

  • Touchpad (maybe I just hate them all) working wierd
  • Some parts are made from dust-friendly materials – like the speaker area
  • It’s hard to keep the screen and the red front panel always clear
  • On the beginning Vista made simple things difficult (after some time it became better)

Second Day

After 2 formats the hard drive started to make weird sound. The hard drive failed. One telephone to dell service with a short diagnostics and on the next working day a guy from dell arrived with a new HDD for my laptop. Change took 5 minutes. Results? 320 GB 7200 rpm Samsung -> 320 GB 7200 rpm Fujitsu (a little more loud)

Finally I had my laptop working so I decided to install Direct Media, Windows Vista and then Linux Fedora (with which helped me my friend Ecik) in this order. When everything was set up and I thanked my friend, something extremely unpleasant happened. I ought to run my computer in Direct Media mode and then computer crashed and my partition table become as good as shit – sorry for my dict.

Third Day

Don’t get me wrong I am happy with my computer, but it do have some bugs.

What i like is perfectly working bluetooth, which syncs my n95 8gb with my computer flawlessly and the one switch button which allows me to save more battery if I don’t need any networks.

Secondly the next great thing is that I don’t have to enter my windows password – just rub my finger🙂

Although there are two things that bug me most: the absence of Wake On Lan function and the sleep mode which works and doesn’t work at the same time… Hopefully I will fix the second issue some day…

It’s 28.08.2008 and i found one big disfunction! the cd drive is more than shit! I’ve got a matshita dvd-rw which can’t burn a cd in any other application that Windows Vista! What’s more I’ve got no chance to exchange the cd drive while it’s working in operating system! I had no luck in finding new drivers or solution… DELL you should be ASHAMED of yourself!

Cooling

Cooling in this notebook isn’t so good at all- it gets really hot while playing games on running high performance mode, while in energy saving mode it’s quite cool.

Gaming experience

Runs Crysis on medium details with good resolution and framerate, or on high details with low resolution – quite good

Runs Bioshock on full detail and maximum resolution without a lag.

Runs Unreal Tournament 3 with a little but playable lag on the highest resolution (1280 x 1024 on external lcd screen) on maximum detail.

Conclusion

This computer could be easily called hard-core one for guys who like to play a little and like to have great guarantee on their stuff. The screen has a killer resolution which in most common tasks can easily take place of my output 19” lcd

*at least it was😉



9 Responses to “Hardware Review NO. 1 : Dell XPS M1530”

  1. 1 KT

    Great review.
    I recently purchased the Dell XPS m1530 and it has given me some trouble as well.
    Vista was being Vista, (and I’m not a particular fan) so that was easily fixed by reformatting. The HDD is SATA so I had to slipstream the SATA drivers onto my XP install disk. All went smoothly there except for the Matshita issues (identical to yours) which I gave up on after countless hours of searching for potential compatible drivers. Another problem, as you mentioned, is the sleep function; mine will go into to sleep mode but will not come out of it. When I did install Ubuntu 8.04 as the only OS there were quite a few compatibility issues, mainly WiFi only working sporadically, at best..

    Specs:
    XPS M1530, Intel Core 2 Duo Processor T9300 (2.5GHz/800MHzFSB, 6M L2 Cache)
    3GB, DDR2, 667MHz 2 Dimm
    15.4 inch Wide Screen WXGA+ TrueLife LCD
    256MB NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT
    250GB 5400RPM SATA Hard Drive
    8X DVD+/-RW Slot Load Drive //What Dell called it on the receipt though it’s the same as yours, the Matshita DVD-RW
    85 WHr 9-cell Lithium Ion //The extended battery is huge and adds a lot of weight to it

    -KT

  2. 2 EDwaRD

    hello can you guys help me?
    i’ve recently purchased a Dell XPS M1530, must say, it is really sweet and has been running really well so far…
    only problem is all of a sudden the bluetooth on the laptop isn’t picking up
    my phone, and vice versa…
    it worked well the last time i transferred a file to my phone, but now it isn’t working…
    the computer says it’s working fine, but it’s not picking up any bluetooth devices that are in visibility mode and are right next to it…
    Can someone help me please or atleast give me a reference as to where to get help…
    I purchased the laptop online form Dell because i’m from the caribbean, so sending it back for repairs is going to be really hard, plus the fact the i don’t even have it a week yet and the bluetooth stopped working makes me really sad….
    Please give me some advice…

  3. 3 masteranza

    Well, I’ve discovered recently that bluetooth sometimes hang itself, so you should reset it using the button to disable all the networks which is right below the remote on the right side of the laptop.

  4. 4 safwat

    about the blury screen i had the same problem until i discovered a cleaning cloth in the super market that cleans precious crystals. I bought it and used it on the screen with a few drops of water and the screen became bran new.

  5. 5 bandsxbands

    My friend and I were recently discussing about how involved with technology our daily lives have become. Reading this post makes me think back to that discussion we had, and just how inseparable from electronics we have all become.

    I don’t mean this in a bad way, of course! Ethical concerns aside… I just hope that as technology further develops, the possibility of transferring our brains onto a digital medium becomes a true reality. It’s one of the things I really wish I could encounter in my lifetime.

    (Posted on Nintendo DS running R4i DS OperaV2)

  6. By and large I do not post on websites, but I would like to mention that this article really compelled me to do so! Thank you for your insightful article.

  7. The Notebook is of course one of Nick Sparks best tear jearker novel. Nick is really very talented guy *~’

  8. Currently it looks like WordPress is the top blogging platform available right now.
    (from what I’ve read) Is that what you’re using on your blog?


  1. 1 Nokia BH-503 - Hardware Review NO. 2 « Ranza’s Research

Leave a Reply

