Tweak NO. 2 : Fedora 9 Linux on Dell XPS M1530 with dual boot

29Aug08

After some trubles in doing dual boot and isntaling Fedora I decided to write this post so that other users won’t waste so much time as I did.

Firstly if you wan’t to have your remote control working on your XPS you don’t have to install Media Direct!

What’s more your remote will work on your Fedora as well!

So the biggest mistake you can do while reinstalling your system is to install the SHITY MEDIA DIRECT SOFTWARE!… but do not throw away the Media Direct Cd, we will need it later😉

Here is how my installation process looked like.

  1. Install Windows (I have Vista 32 bit- however I’m angry for dell for not allowing to choose the 64 bit edition)
  2. While installing drivers try always do a restart after installing each driver!
  3. Start installation Fedora 9 64 bit
  4. Install it on a primary partition and make a SWAP partition at least the size of your RAM memory, keep on track on which partition the windows is and where linux is being installed. For example if you’ve got windows on hda/sda2 then your partition number is 2. Write does down.
  5. When you’ve got the Time Setup popup uncheck the “My system has UTC time” option
  6. While installing grub choose an advanced option to install it on the partition that you have linux, DO NOT CHANGE MASTER BOOT RECORD
  7. Once you’ve installed Linux go to Windows (You will not be able to boot Linux yet), put the Media Direct CD in your CD Drive but do not install or run it, instead run the cmd.exe on Admin rights and type: X:\DellKit\rmbr.exe DELL Y Z where X is your Cd drive letter, Y the Windows partition number and Z the Linux partition number.
  8. Boot from the Media Direct Button – Linux should start
  9. Install all the updates for your system.
  10. While rebooting you can have an ISSUE 1. and get the system hanged on displaing message “Decompress Linux Done. Booting the Kernel.”. to solve change the kernel argument from quiet to verbose at GRUB. Should work now
  11. The Ethernet, wifi and sound should work, except the sound is set to Headphones output – try it.
  12. Install the nvidia drivers.Go to http://rpm.livna.org/rlowiki/ and install livna repository rpm for Fedora 9.
  13. Type yum install kmod-nvidia in console at root privileges.
  14. Restart. Adjust your settings using nvidia-settings. You can turn on Desktop Effects now if you want😉 ISSUE 2. Sometimes the selection rectangle on the desktop is running slow – try reenabling destkop effects.
  15. Installing 32 bit flash player on Firefox 64 bit – download a normal rpm at adobe.com and after installing it run console at root rights and type: yum install nspluginwrapper.{i386,x86_64} libflashsupport.i386
  16. Now flash player should be working properly.

I will write more about installing hardware later. Currently I’m trying to change the shity media direct logo while booting Fedora.



22 Responses to “Tweak NO. 2 : Fedora 9 Linux on Dell XPS M1530 with dual boot”

  1. 1 M4rc0

    Nice!

    I also use Fedora9 with my xps m1530🙂

    But i use ONLY F9, no reason to have windows at all.

    My home button is configured to open firefox haha =D

    Did you make the media remote control work on your F9? I’ve been researching about this a LOT. Please, e-mail me if you find out.

  2. 2 masteranza

    As I wrote:
    [quote] What’s more your remote will work on your Fedora as well! [/qoute]
    remote is working without special instalation. I did nothing after installing Fedora to get the remote working, it seems that the drivers are somehow integrated with the computer… or maybe installing windows activates them? naaa… that’s bulshit…
    Well all I can say you – Try
    If’ll get any results – write here

  3. 3 Vincent

    How are the touchpad and wifi support under Fedora? Also, are all the XPS features (Webcam, for example) still usable under Fedora? And does its installation affect Windows at all?

  4. 4 masteranza

    Sorry for such a long lag Vincent. Fedora supports wifi really good, it is working without additional drivers, however the touchpad doesn’t work as it should.
    I haven’t tried the camera yet.

  5. 5 Julio

    Great post. After strugling with fedora repartitioning, I’m planning to install F9 following your directions. I have a question: did you erase ALL partitions before installing vista/fedora? I mean the dell rescue and the small partition of the begining.
    Thanks in advance!

  6. 6 masteranza

    yeah, you can remove them without any consequences, you even should do
    that before installing linux if you don’t need them. But remember you
    can’t press the Media Direct Button before installing linux and grub
    to separate partition (not Master Boot Record)
    Then you you must rewrite the drive letter which is assigned to Media
    Direct Button as I wrote above.

  7. 7 Fred

    Hello masteranza !

    First, thanks for this post. It’s very clear and everything works fine.
    My question is simple : Did you manage to get rid of the media direct logo when you start Fedora ?

    Thanks.

  8. Fred: Unluckily no… I think that it’s written in the same part of memory that are the drivers of media direct remote (since it works without problems on linux)

  9. 9 Pete

    I know this is a very old topic, and I’m sorry to bring it up but:

    how exactly do you find out what number your different partitions are?

  10. Well, it’s a good question – it made me wonder on the beginning and I must admit that I don’t really remember how I’ve done it, since there are 3 different enumerating methods: the linux order, the growing offset or the partition number shown by diskpart. However I consider linux to be the most safe option – so boot up a live cd and check those numbers. If it works/fails write it down here – let other know😉

  11. 11 Pete

    But what do you mean by “check those numbers” Where? How? I have a livecd I just don’t know how to check the numbers.

  12. In gparted all drives are enumerated.

  13. 13 Pete

    I was using SuSE and I discovered that the drives are enumerated as ” dev/sda# ”

    Thanks to your brilliant guide, I managed to get this up and running. Thanks!

  14. 14 newtolinux

    i have dell xps m1530 and i have also installed windows7 and linux ubuntu 9.10. but since i m new to linux can anyone tell me, what does grub do and how do you install it?(can you please provide each and every step to do it).
    Since I wanted boot the windows by power button and ubuntu by media button, I cannot get to it. Plz help!!!

  15. Grub displays a boot menu, but it can be installed either on Master Boot Record or a partition – which is what you need.

  16. 16 David

    Hi Ranza,

    Many thanks for this tutorial. I just read it and it seems a kind of easy.

    I got Win7 and downloaded Fedora 12 and I’m almost ready to install them. As soon as I completed this task I will let you know my results.

    I just have a little question about the installation of both OS’s. When I bought my M1530 it had the, as you said, shity Win Vista by default and I only tested it for a week enough time to decided migrating my OS to WinXP; but to do that I had to investigate how to do it because I knew some “special configuration” was required in the BIOS to handle the Hard Drive this computer has installed.

    Now the question… -> Is it needed something special like the config for WinXP installation in the BIOS?

    Thanks so much for your help on sharing knowledge. =D

  17. Hi, I’m not sure If I understand you right, but there’s no bios configuration needed. If you want to have a custom dual boot you just need to a proper Master Boot Record configuration and that’s all (assuming that you’ve done everything as I wrote before)

  18. 18 David

    Hi masteranza,

    I just installed Win7 and seems to be working fine in my M1530 =P

    Almost everything was detected. I only had to download the drivers for Video from NVidia site.

    Another thing that I got stucked a little was with the drivers for the memory card 8-1 reader. In the “Hardware Administration” window was showing something that was not detected some drivers and I just downloaded and installed them and everything is now smooth.

    Tomorrow I will install Linux and let you all know my results.

    Thanks so much!
    David

  19. 19 David

    Hi masteranza and followers of this blog,

    Here are my results of today’s installation work.

    As I mentioned in my previews entry I installed Windows7 in my M1530 PC. Then I tried to install Linux 3 times. I typed 3 times because I got stucked 2 of them:

    1. I tried to install “LinuxMint” (wanted to give it a try) and followed all the steps mentioned above, but when booting from MediaDirect button my PC freezed. Then I tried to restart from Windows7 and I received the nasty message “BOOTMGR is missing. Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart”. What I did to resolve this issue is explained in the following URL: “http://cyberst0rm.blogspot.com/2007/04/how-to-fix-bootmgr-is-missing-in.html”
    NOTE: Solution 1 in the mentioned web page is enough but you have to do it 2 times.

    2. After my failed try with LinuxMint installation I proceeded to try Fedora 12. Unfortunately I could not start installation because for some reason the partition was broken or corrupted in some way while mixing both Linux distros. What I did here was to log into Windows7 and right click on MyPC and the selected “Manage”. Then “Manage my HD”. I selected the extended partition and displayed the menu with right click on it and selected “delete volume” (sorry about my translations but my OS is in Spanish =P)

    3. After completed step 2 I give another try but now with Ubuntu 9.04. I followed each of the steps of this Tweak NO.2 from masteranza and finaly worked.

    I have to tell you all that the tricky part of this tutorial is the installation of GRUB. You have to select as destiny the “Extended” partition and not the PRIMARY partition where your Linux will be installed. In my case sda4 (Extended partition) contains sda5 (Swap partition) and sda6 (Linux Primary partition).

    Doing this, when the installation is completed you will be booting from the MediaDirect without issues. =D

    I have to tell you, also, that Ubuntu recognized almost everything of my hardware. The only thing that was not recognized is the Wireless.

    I have not found at this moment a resolution of this but I will be searching.

    Thanks so much for your help MASTERANZA as this tutorial is “The One”.

    See ya and cheers from Mexico!
    David

  20. I’m glad it worked for you too. However I think that the more general solution can be found here: https://masteranza.wordpress.com/2009/09/04/tweak-no-4-windows-7-and-xp-dual-boot-on-dell-xps-m1530/
    Which is how I also managed to have Windows 7 (power button) and Mac OSX (media direct button)

  21. 21 xpsm1530

    can you plz create the same step by step method for windows7 and ubuntu 9.10 with ubuntu booting from media direct button.

    I have had no luck with anything so far. please help.

    i have created a forum but no luck. the forum is in below website.

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1362150

    thank you

  22. I constantly emailed this webpage post page to all my contacts,
    as if like to read it then my friends will too.


Leave a Reply

