Solution: VS C++ 2008 “Project creation failed” bug

27Dec08

God damn. I took me about a half of an hour to Google that out…

 

Things to do to fix Visual Studio C++ Express (Probably in most cases you don’t have to delete those entries first. (worked for me)):

 

  1. Go to Start -> All Programs -> Accessories -> Run, and type “RegEdit.exe”
  2. Locate the following folder/key: “HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\VsWizard.VsWizardEngine.9.0”
  3. Right click -> Permissions -> Advanced -> Owner (Should be getting alot of “No permission to do that” likely-errors)
  4. Click one time on “Administrators”, then click “OK”.
  5. Expand “VsWizard.VsWizardEngine.9.0”, Right Click CLSID and do the same. (Do that to all subfolders which is under “VsWizard.VsWizardEngine.9.0” aswell, if any.)
  6. Right Click “VsWizard.VsWizardEngine.9.0” and click “Delete”, choose yes if you get an confirmation window.
  7. Right Click “VsWizard.WizCombo.9.0” and set permissions for that folder and subfolders, and delete that one too.
  8. If everything went fine, you shouldn’t have any folder called “VsWizard.WizCombo.9.0” or “VsWizard.VsWizardEngine.9.0” anymore.
  9. Goto: Start-> All Programs -> Accessories, Right Click “Command Promt” and click “Run as administrator”.
  10. Navigate to your Microsoft Visual Studio IDE folder, by using the “cd” command. (usually “cd C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\Common7\IDE”)
  11. Type “RegSvr32.exe VsWizard.dll”. You should get a window telling that you’ve registered that dll file (or something like that).
  12. Start RegEdit.exe again (if you haven’t), and locate to “HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\VsWizard.VsWizardEngine.9.0”. This should have been added again.
  13. Right Click -> Permissions, you should see “Administrators” and “SYSTEM” or something, click them both and enable Full Control and Read.
  14. Do the same for subfolders (should’ve been done automatically), and then do it for “VsWizard.WizCombo.9.0” and subfolders, which should’ve been added again.
  15. Close RegEdit.exe
  16. Start the version of visual studio you have, create a new project, and watch how it works!

 

uff… I hate Microsoft software…



43 Responses to “Solution: VS C++ 2008 “Project creation failed” bug”

  1. I’m also getting this problem, but when I try to do step five, right click the CLSID, I can’t find anything that says CLSID. All I see is (default). What can I do? By the way I’m running Windows Vista.

  2. I probably also had it like this but I wasn’t sure. Try to make some new project, save it or restart something – probably then it’ll appear. (I haven’t done more experiments by myself)

  3. Okay I fixed that previous problem, but now it wont let me delete VsWizard.VsWizardEngine.9.0. I right click the folder and select delete. But it says error while deleting key.

  4. be sure that you have admin priviladges opening regedit and then play in Permissions trying to add your username and administrator everywhere where’s possible (Vista says there strange things that it cannot be done while indeed it does O_o )
    Good luck!

  5. 5 Danielle

    I also cannot find the VsWizard.VsWizardEngine.9.0. What should I do?

  6. 6 Ousama

    Hey! This worked for me. Thanks for doing this research and helping everyone out.

  7. 7 Grayson

    Thanks very much. This worked great!

  8. 8 Hero

    Cool, works now thanks. Oh and make sure you check “allow” for owner permission “full control” so you can delete them.

  9. 9 fromPortugal

    MAN!!!

    THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!!

    I searched almost all the internet, to find a solution for this bug. Nor microsoft’s forum help me.
    only yours solution works to me.

    It amazing how microsoft plays against himself… LOL

  10. 10 Can

    I do exactly what u write here. But I also have project creation error. What should I do ?

  11. 11 Eru

    It works! thanks a lot 😀

  12. 12 NB

    I did everything it says. Everything worked but I’m still getting the project error.

  13. 13 ATZ

    Navigate to your Microsoft Visual Studio IDE folder, by using the “cd” command. (usually “cd C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\Common7\IDE”)

    ?

    I don’t understand this.
    What should I exactly write in the command prompt?

  14. 14 NEK

    I did all the steps but unfortunatedly I couldn’t create C++ projects. Same problem.

  15. 15 МММ

    спасибо огромное!

  16. 16 Sam

    thanks, man. This solution hellped me with that а error on my windows7 & express c++.

  17. 17 Blukkie

    I had to manually download the .dll file; for some reason it was not there. But now it added:
    – VsWizard.VsWizardEngine
    – VsWizard.VsWizardEngine.1
    – VsWizard.WizCombo
    – VsWizard.WizCombo.1

    There’s also a VsWizard.TestWizard.9.0 in the Register-editor. Leave untouched?
    I gave the above full permissions but my express 2008 still refuses to create a project…

    It’s probably my .dll. For those where it worked: could you upload it perhaps?

    Thanks in advance.

  18. 18 haitham

    man .. i love u thxxxxxxxxx 😀

  19. it still doesnt work, does anyone else know how?

  20. 20 Kleo

    after I tried several times with
    finding the CLSID folders (“expand” was grey at first)
    and
    deleting “VsWizard.WizCombo.9.0″ or “VsWizard.VsWizardEngine.9.0″

    It totally worked with both of the 2008 and 2010 express editions, following the steps you gave.

    Thank you soooooo much! good job!

  21. 21 bmc

    All the time i’ve got error while delting file, anybody knows why? help please

  22. Your solution helped me to solve the big problem troubled me two days. Thank you very much!
    P.s. I hate Microsoft software too …..

  23. 23 hello0051

    You said I shall Expand de Vswizard data but where I shall expand the data??? at the desktop? or where is the best place for this datas??? pls help

  24. 25 hello0051

    oh… ok and before I delete the Wizard Combo 9.0 shall I expand this too? (like the wizard engine 9.0)

  25. Damn, I’m getting an error when inputing the VsWizard DLL. I check the directory and the DLL is there.

    The error states
    “The Module “VsWizard.dll” failed to load.

    Make sure the binary is stored at the specified path or debug it to check for problems with the binary or dependent .DLL files.

    The specified module could not be found.”

    Why can RegSvr32 not find the DLL, I double checked and I’m definately linking to the right directory.

  26. 27 Pushpkant Yadav

    When I used the RegSvr32.exe VsWizard.dll
    I got that
    The Module “VsWizard,dll” failed to load

  27. 28 yuri

    not working((((((((((((((((((((((((((

  28. 29 Pelle

    doesn’t work for VS2010

  29. 30 Jorn

    Worked for me perfectly ! MSVC 2008
    sooo glad its fixed. If people do not see the sub folders of the registery keys they should add full control to the parent folder. Then you will see the contents.

  30. For those who have the problem “The Module “VsWizard,dll” failed to load”, make sure you use the correct directory.
    For my Windows 7, I should use “cd C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\Common7\IDE”, after that, it should work already!

  31. Its such as you learn my mind! You appear to know so much approximately this, like you wrote the book in it
    or something. I believe that you just can do with some percent to power the message house
    a bit, but instead of that, this is great blog. A great read.
    I will definitely be back.

  32. i changed the permissions for VsWizard.VsWizardEngine.9.0 and still can’t expand it!! what should i do?

  33. 34 Mimi

    I guessed that should update to VsWizard.VsWizardEngine.11.0 for VS 2012… but not working. 😦

  34. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article.
    I will make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of
    your useful info. Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly return.

  35. What’s up to all, how is the whole thing, I think every one is getting more from this site, and your views are nice in support of new viewers.

  36. I couldn’t execute this on my CMD… RegSvr32.exe VsWizard.dll 😦

  37. 38 ITsniper

    Nope, no luck same problem still

  38. Link exchange is nothing else however itt is onpy placing thhe other person’s webpage
    llink on your page at proper place and other persoon will also do same in support oof you.

  39. 40 kundan kumar

    Hi, I configure Illustrator sdk templates with visual studio 2008,
    but when I creating a Illustrator plugin ,it gives a message ,project creation is failed.
    so please help me.

    Regards
    Kundan


  1. 1 www.escinf.Una.Ac.cr
  2. 2 dedicated servers cheap
  3. 3 dedicated windows servers

Leave a comment