Thumbnails for mp4 In MS Windows Explorer

23Sep07

I’ve been searching for a long time for a trick that will allow me to show thumbnails of mp4 files and today I finally found it!

The software you need to this trick is called CCCP (yes, like the old good Russia πŸ˜‰ ) and it’s available from http://www.cccp-project.net/

Here you see my beautifully personalized windows explorer

092307-0956-mp4thumbnai1.jpg



9 Responses to “Thumbnails for mp4 In MS Windows Explorer”

  1. 1 Boyke

    GREAT…!!!!

    This is fuck’n great….
    Thank you very very very much…….!!!!

  2. 2 Fredricko

    Thanks! Also been looking for this a long time!!

  3. 3 hejwi

    Hey, there is an other way around
    install any codecs You want
    aand then edit Your Registry
    create
    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.MP4
    in there create new key – name it “ShellEx”
    right click the created key and again “new”==> key
    enter {BB2E617C-0920-11d1-9A0B-00C04FC2D6C1}
    then click the created key and “SET VALUE”
    set it to
    {7376D660-C583-11d0-A3A5-00C04FD706EC}

    VOILA!
    works for all other video extensions – values/key names all the same
    checked with K-Lite codec pack

  4. 4 hejwi

    OOOPS mistake!!!
    last value should be
    {c5a40261-cd64-4ccf-84cb-c394da41d590}

    the one I gave before is for IMAGES not videos

  5. 5 Thomas J

    To Ranza the orginal poster,

    The CCCP codec package was great, thank you very much for the research and hyperlink. Cant belive I am just getting round to this little gem, But I had to find somthing…..

    As you may know MP4 Files are growing very fast, in fact where-as FLV used to be the standard some sites are looking for MP4 to be the prefered format method.

    To Hejwi there is some very nice registy work-arounds in your post.

    ( I have not tried yet as CCCP worked straight away for me.But I have saved your research notes, and its great to know that this method exists as well as CCCP.Thank you for your posting and research as well.)

  6. I all the time emailed this website post page to all my friends,
    since if like to read it next my links will
    too.

  7. I will immediately take hold of your rss feed as
    I can’t find your e-mail subscription link or newsletter service. Do you have any? Please permit me realize so that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

  8. Hi there, I do think your blog could be having web browser compatibility issues.
    Whenever I look at your site in Safari, it looks fine but when opening in I.E., it’s got
    some overlapping issues. I just wanted to provide you with a quick heads up!
    Apart from that, excellent site!

  9. Evaluation the amortization desk to see how a lot interest and
    principal is paid with every fee and the full curiosity that will probably
    be paid on the loan whether it is paid as scheduled.


Leave a comment